
 

Consumer Pass Through Telecommunications Taxes and Fees 
 
 

Service Type  Taxes and Fees  Revenue  Notes 

Broadband Internet 
Access Services 

None   The Internet Tax 
Freedom Act prohibits 
states and 
municipalities from 
taxing BIAS. 

Cable Video Services  Sales Tax (6%) 
 

PEG Access Fee 
(Franchise  fee) 
(5%) 

 
 
 

~ $8 million 

Cable video service is 
subject to state sales 
tax. The Cable Act 
allows up to 5% 
franchise fee for cable 
related purposes. 
Vermont 

Telecommunications  State Sales Tax   VUSF charge on retail 

Services  (6%)   telecommunications 
   services. 

 Vermont Universal  $5.5 million   
 Service Fund   Federal USF on 
 (2.4%)   Interstate portion of 
  

Federal USF 
(33.4%) 

No State 
specific data 
at USAC 

bill. 
 

Both Funds assess 
revenue on VoIP 

 Federal Excise tax 
(3%) 

  

Charged on non‐long 
distance charges 



Other Taxes and Fees 
 
 

Tax  Services  Revenue  Notes 

Gross Receipts  Telephone  $559,000  .005  of gross VT revenue or $500 

Tax (to fund the  Cable  $1,540,000  .005 of gross VT revenue or $500 
PSD and PUC)  CMRS  $725,0000  .005 of gross VT revenue or $500 

   30 V.S.A. § 22 

Telephone 
personal 
property tax 

Regulated 
telephone 

~3.5 million  2.37% of plant Net Value. Paid by very 
few wireline telecommunications 
companies. Not paid by CMRS. 

 


